Educational Excellence

A diverse array of outstanding educational options, facilities and workforce training providers offer excellent lifelong learning opportunities in Jasper County.

Saint Joseph’s College

Jasper County’s higher education needs are served by several leading institutions.  Saint Joseph’s College in Rensselaer, Indiana was founded in 1889 and had been serving over 900 students until the decision was made to suspend campus operations at the end of the Spring 2017 semester.  This private, Catholic liberal arts institution had offered 75 major, minor and pre-professional areas of study on a beautiful 180-acre park-like campus.  They are in the process of reengineering for the future although their long-term viability remains uncertain.

Nearby Higher Education Institutions

Purdue LogoPurdue University was founded in 1869 and currently has 40,451 students with over 200 undergraduate majors and 70 master’s and doctoral programs.  Located in West Lafayette, IN with Purdue University Northwest campuses in Hammond and Westville, IN.

Indiana University Northwest LogoIndiana University Northwest was founded in 1963 and currently serves nearly 6,000 students with over 70 undergraduate and graduate degrees.  Located in Gary, IN.

Valparaiso LogoValparaiso University was founded in 1859, has 4,544 students and offers over 70 undergraduate and 40 graduate degrees in a traditional liberal arts atmosphere.  Located in Valparaiso, IN.

Ivy Tech Community College LogoIvy Tech Community College is Indiana’s largest institution of higher learning serving over 170,000 students statewide with nearby campuses located in Gary, Lafayette and Valparaiso, IN.

Elementary and Secondary Schools

Kankakee Valley School Corporation (KVSC) supplies K-12 education in north Jasper County with 2 Elementary, 1 Intermediate and 1 Middle School, and Kankakee Valley High School.

Rensselaer Central Schools Corporation (RCSC) offers K-12 education in central Jasper County and operates 2 Elementary  and 1 Middle School, and Rensselaer Central High School.

Tri-County School Corporation (TCSC) provides K-12 education in southern Jasper County through 1 Primary and 1 Intermediate School, and Tri-County Middle-Senior High School.

West Central School Corporation serves K-12 students from Gillam Township through schools located in Pulaski County.

DeMotte Christian Schools  serves approximately 400 K-12 students with 2 facilities including Covenant Christian High School.

St. Augustine Catholic School offers pre-school – 5th grade education in Rensselaer.

 Public Schools Data KVSC RCSC TCSC
 Student Enrollment 3,452 1,668 752
 Graduation Rate 89.8% 90.8% 92.6%
 Graduates Pursuing College 78.7% 80.2%  84.3%
 SAT Average Score 964.4 916.1 996.8
 Expenditure Per Pupil $9,886 $10,942 $15,708

The following table provides educational attainment data for Jasper County:

 Population 25 Years and Over 22,029 %
 Less Than 9th Grade 635 2.9
 9th to 12th Grade, No Diploma 2,025 9.2
 High School Graduate 9,424 42.8
 Some College, No Degree 4,920 22.3
 Associate Degree 1,646 7.5
 Bachelor’s Degree 2,138 9.7
 Graduate or Professional Degree 1,241 5.6
 High School Graduate or Higher 19,369 87.9
 Bachelor’s Degree or Higher 3,379 15.3