JCEDO Leadership

Meet Our Staff

Sara E. DeYoung – Executive Director

Sara DeYoung started with JCEDO in the Spring of 2023. She earned her BS in Environmental Science from Purdue University and BA in Creative Writing.  Her career began in communications for an international mineral mining company based in Hunt Valley, MD. She returned to the area when she and her farming husband became engaged. When Sara came back to Indiana, she was curious about what made some small towns and rural areas evolve and thrive while others became dilapidated and destitute. Being married to a farmer, she knew that the only way she could improve the world around her, was to change it, as farm ground doesn’t travel well. So, Sara started asking questions and learning everything she could about community and economic development. She worked in local government, volunteered with the Jasper Newton Community Foundation, Farm Bureau, Northwest Indiana Paddlers, 4-H and several other local groups. She graduated from Ball State’s Community and Economic Development Course. She is the past director of the Remington Wolcott Community Development Organization. Sara’s parents owned and operated a family gas station in Brook, IN for over 40 years, so small businesses are very close to her heart. She is thrilled to be part of JCEDO and continue the work its staff and board has collaborated on. She added,

“Jasper County has incredible assets, not just its infrastructure, but the people. There are people in every town that have huge ideas and are willing and able to put the work and time in to make them a reality. That’s an amazing thing.
There is a sense of collaboration and communication. There is no one silver bullet or person that can solve all of the problems. It takes me, it takes you, it takes all of us in capacities large and small to create resilient communities that evolve and thrive.”

Economic Development Coordinator, Tourism & Community Relations - vacant

Christy Fleming- Office Administrator

Christy started with JCEDO in the fall of 2022 as the office administrator. She is a lifelong resident and small business owner in Rensselaer.  She comes to us with 9 years of previous experience working in Jasper County Government.  Christy has been actively involved in the Rensselaer Area Chamber of Commerce/Retail Merchants and a volunteer for the Jasper County 4H program.  She is excited to be a part of the Jasper County Economic Development team to advance local tourism, small business support, workforce development, and the development of long-term sustainable growth for our communities.

Board of Directors

Chairman: Rodney Urbano, Town and Country Paving

Vice-Chair: Rein Bontreger, Jasper County Commissioner

Treasurer: Dave Del Principe, Del Principe & Allie, CPA

Secretary: Jon Cripe, Town of Remington

Immediate Past Chair: Jeremy Scheitlin, Titan Construction

Noelle Weishaar, City of Rensselaer

JoAnn McElfresh, Jenkins Realtors

Jon Schwab, Presidio Group

Gary Fritts, Jasper County Council

Quentin Overbeck, Remington Farms

Jake Prairie, Prairie Ag Services

Karen McLean, NiSource

Dirk Eggleston, T&M Limited

Carlos Vasquez, Fransican Health Rensselaer

Dave Heninger, ConAgra

Tom Carroll, NITCO

Bruce Przybylski, Hamstra Builders

Jatin Patel, DJS Hospitality

Mark Slaughter, Town of Wheatfield